Comprised of leading global MS scientists and experts, including three people affected by MS, the Scientific Steering Committee sets priorities and develops plans to accelerate treatment development.

It achieves results by funding transformational research, convening scientific summits to share knowledge and stimulate discovery and collaborating with regulatory bodies, scientific leaders in other diseases and pharmaceutical experts.


Robert Fox, Professor of Neurology, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine, Staff Neurologist, Vice-Chair of Research, Neurological Institute, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, (US)


Ruth Ann Marrie, Professor of Medicine and Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba and Director of the Multiple Sclerosis Clinic at Health Sciences Centre Winnipeg, University of Manitoba, (CA)


Bruce Bebo, Executive Vice President, Research, National MS Society, (US)
Giampaolo Brichetto, Coordinator, Research in rehabilitation, AISM — Italian MS Society, (IT)
Bill Carroll, Clinical Professor of Neurology, Consultant Neurologist, Neurologist, University of Western Australia, Perron Institute, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, (AU)
Olga Ciccarelli, NIHR Research Professor of Neurology at Institute of Neurology, University College London, (UK)
Timothy Coetzee, Chief Advocacy, Services, and Research Officer, National MS Society, (US)
Anne Cross, Professor of Neurology, Manny and Rosalyn Rosenthal and Dr. John L. Trotter MS Center Chair in Neuroimmunology, Washington University School of Medicine, (US)
Gabriele Dati, Coordinator, Biomedical Research and Grant Office, AISM — Italian MS Society, (IT)
Anthony Feinstein, Professor of Psychiatry, University of Toronto and Sunnybrook Research Institute, (CA)
Emma Gray, Head of Clinical Trials, MS Society UK, (UK)
Anne Helme, Head of Research and Access, MS International Federation, (UK)
Reinhard Hohlfeld, Professor, Institute of Clinical Neuroimmunology, Munich University Hospital, (DE)
Robert Hyde, Senior Director Global Medical Affairs, Biogen, (CH)
Pamela Kanellis, Assistant Vice President, Research, MS Society, Canada, (CA)
Douglas Landsman, Vice President, Research, National MS Society, (US)
Catherine Lubetzki, Professor of Neurology, Head of the department of Neurological Diseases, Sorbonne University, Pitie-Salpetriere hospital, (FR)
Fred Lublin, Saunders Family Professor of Neurology, Director, The Corinne Goldsmith Dickinson Center for Multiple Sclerosis, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (US)
Xavier Montalban, Professor, Chairman & Director, Neurology-Neuroimmunology Department, Multiple Sclerosis Centre of Catalonia (Cemcat), Vall d’Hebron Barcelona Hospital, (ES)
Julia Morahan, Head of Research, MS Research Australia, (AU)
Michael Olex, person living with MS (US)
Sarah Rawlings, Executive Director of Research & External Affairs, MS Society UK, (UK)
Marco Salvetti, Director of the Center for Neurology and Experimental Therapies, La Sapienza University, Rome, (IT)
Finn Thorup Sellebjerg, Professor, Chief Physician, Department of Neurology, Head, MS center, University of Copenhagen, Danish Multiple Sclerosis Center, Rigshospitalet, (DK)
Kathy Smith, Consultant, International Progressive MS Alliance, (US)
Martyn Smith, person living with MS (UK)
Marie Vaillant, person living with MS (CA)
Clare Walton, Head of Research, MS Society UK, (UK)
Kathy Zackowski, Associate Vice President, Research, National MS Society, (US)
Paola Zaratin, Director of Scientific Research, AISM — Italian MS Society, (IT)

Chair Emeritus

Alan Thompson, Professor, Pro Provost for London, Dean of Faculty of Brain Sciences, University College London

Vice Chair Emeritus

Giancarlo Comi, Honorary Professor of Neurology at the Università Vita Salute San Raffaele, Founder and Director of the Institute of Experimental Neurology at the Scientific Institute San Raffaele, President of the European Charcot Foundation

Join Us.

Together we are stronger than progressive MS.

Join Us.